System hacks: Solutions to two small problems with Windows 10

Windows 10 has been released for a long time, although it has been recognized by many users, but in the process of using it still encounter many problems, some minor problems do not affect the use of the system, but after all, does not meet their own habits of use. Here are two small problems that may be encountered in Windows 10, to provide a reference solution to you.

Adjust the display time of application notifications

There is a new class of UWP applications in Windows 10, which can push the display after receiving information like our common mobile apps, and the way of pushing is to display an alert box in the bottom right corner of the screen. Usually this alert box will last for five seconds and then the alert message will be included in the system’s Action Center list, but some users may feel that this five-second alert time is not enough, so it is necessary to modify the notification display time settings.

First, click the Start button in the lower left corner of the desktop, and then click the “Settings” button on the left side of the pop-up menu, which will bring up the System Settings window. Click the “Easy to use” button in the window, and then click the “Display” option on the left side of the pop-up window, you will see a list of options called “Display time for notifications” in the right window. in the right-hand window. After clicking this list, select the desired display time in the pop-up menu, which includes 5 seconds, 7 seconds, 15 seconds, 30 seconds, 1 minute, etc. (Figure 1). After all settings are completed, restart the system and the notification message will be displayed according to the new setting time.

201922xwt1

However, although you can modify the display time through the settings window, there are only 6 candidates in the list, if these options are not what you want, then you can set the time you need by modifying the registry. Now press the shortcut Win+R to open the “Run” dialog, type “regedit” and press Enter to open the Registry Editor, expand the list on the left to [HKEY_CURRENT_USERControl PanelAccessibility], find the “MessageDuration” option in the right window, double-click it and select the “Decimal” option in the dialog box, then enter a value in the left side of the Then enter a desired display time in the “Numeric Data” on the left side (Figure 2).

201922xwt2

Note that the data in “Value Data” is in seconds, so if you want to set a minute you need to enter 60 here.

Complete file shredding with system tools

Sometimes for the protection of privacy, we will shred the files to be deleted, and usually complete such operations are completed using third-party software to complete. In fact, we can use the commands that come with the system to complete the relevant operations easily and quickly.

We first type “cmd” in the system’s search box, click the right mouse button in the pop-up search results, click “Run as administrator” command to open it. Now suppose we enter the command “format G: /P:4” and enter, which means that after formatting the data on the G drive, we will use garbage data to overwrite this disk partition four times, thus avoiding the recovery of deleted files through recovery software.

Always note that the above is a formatting of the entire partition and the deleted data will never be recovered, so it must be used with caution. More often than not, we do not need to format the entire disk partition, but only to shred a folder directory, when we need to replace another command. For example, I just deleted a few files in the D:abc folder on my computer, then execute the “cipher /w:D:abc” command again, you can just delete the files left after the space to overwrite the operation three times, so that the deleted files can no longer be recovered (Figure 3).

201922xwt3

Note that no matter which method is used, there is always a risk of completely deleting files, so you need to operate with caution.

Tip: The “/w” parameter in this example is for the operation of the blank disk area left after the deletion of files, you need to follow the normal steps to delete the files first, and then use this command to overwrite the garbage data, while the space area outside the deleted files is not affected.

Leave a Comment